For more than four decades, Capilano University alumni have been making their mark in the world. From acclaimed musicians to bestselling authors, research scientists and business leaders, more than 65,000 alumni are part of the Capilano family.

Capilano University’s Alumni Awards of Excellence program recognizes the outstanding achievements of alumni, faculty and friends of the University, and celebrates a spirit of community and lasting connection to Capilano.

A sound stage at Capilano University’s Nat and Flora Bosa Centre for Film and Animation was the perfect location for honouring Cap’s alumni stars June 19 at the 7th Annual Alumni Awards of Excellence event. More than 200 guests including past Alumni Awards of Excellence and inaugural honorary degree recipient, Dee Daniels, and former Capilano University president Dr. Greg Lee, celebrated the accomplishments and contributions of 12 exceptional people and one prominent North Vancouver-based business.

The 2013 Alumni Awards of Excellence recipients include: the Distinguished Alumni Award—Caterina Alberti, Catherine Barr, Graeme Langager and Chris O’Donohue; the One to Watch Alumni Award—Josephine Anderson, Jacquelyn Cragg, Lenora Joe and Dennis Pang; the President’s Service Award—Tom McDonald and Neptune Terminals, and the Award for Excellence in Empowering Learning—Debbie Jamison, Lars Kaario and Cam Sylvester, all Capilano University faculty. One of the highlights of the evening was a slide show vignette on each recipient produced by Simon Hayter from Cap’s Marketing & Communications department.

The Alumni Association Board also announced their new bursary in appreciation of its members’ positive experiences while studying at Capilano. This endowed award provides emergency funding assistance to students at risk of discontinuing their studies as a result of unexpected financial hardship. Contributions over $1,000 will be matched by the University.

“We want to double or triple this by next spring so we can begin giving bursaries,” said Alumni Association Board member and Foundation Board chair Jeri Krogseth. “We hope many alumni will consider making a contribution.”

Read the news release for more information on the Awards and recipient bios.

Start thinking about that special alum, instructor or administrator to nominate for next year’s Awards.

Congratulations to all our Alumni Awards of Excellence recipients and thank you for embodying our mission of enabling student success.

 Submitted by Marketing & Communications

Related links: